Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

February 5, 2014

God loves the hurt away

Cordele — There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand. Many of us cannot comprehend how television signals create pictures on the screens. I have a difficult time understanding how a fax machine works. It amazes me that someone from one side of the country can place a document on their fax machine, dial a number and as it runs through his machine, it is transmitted to mine, hundreds of miles away.

Historians understand the relevance of history and how it relates to our lifestyles today. Scientists understand how DNA can be evaluated and traced to certain individuals. Physicians understand how the heart works and what to do when it tries to quit working. Engineers know how to build bridges and roads.

God gave each one of us the ability to understand how certain things work. But to be honest, I do not know anyone who knows everything. Some people think they know it all, but I have news for them. They don’t today and they never will.

All people, old and young, understand one thing, however. Any person living and breathing today knows what it is like to experience pain. Life is hard. We all face difficulties in life. Whether the pain is physical, emotional or mental, we are all familiar with discomfort. We understand broken-heartedness. We know what it feels like when we get our feelings hurt. And we know what it is like to be sick. At one time or another, we have all experienced hardships and pain.

When life is hard, however, we can remember that God cares. When we are weak, God is our strength. He gives us the gusto to keep on going. When a friend or loved one has broken our hearts, God is there to lift us up and love away the pain. He can put joy on our faces when the world has hurt us. He is our comfort when we grieve over the loss of a loved one. He is our peace when we face confusion in our lives. He causes miracles to come our way just when we need them most.

Our friends and family members may let us down. They don’t always understand or even care to understand us. God, on the other hand, will never let us down. He may allow us to tread water at times or walk through the fire to make us stronger. We can be sure, however, that if we are His children, God is always available for us. God always understands us. He knows everything about us, because He created us. He knows us even better than we know ourselves. And He loves us anyway. Isn’t that the greatest blessing we could ever receive?

Nancy Gibbs is a writer and motivational speaker. She can be contacted at Nancybgibbs@aol.com

   

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • A fun week in the Blue Ridge

    Helen, Georgia and the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains has been sort of a second home to B. J. and me for many years.

    July 16, 2014

  • Surrendering Frees Energy to Move On

    Many of the wisdom traditions speak about the power of surrender. Surrender is not an easy word for those of us in Western civilization, for it implies 'giving up', or losing. It may even be associated with a sense of shame. The opposite of surrender might be 'fighting to the death'.

    July 15, 2014

  • Life, Liberty, and….. Quizzes?

    Before I can talk about quizzes, I have to talk about Facebook.  I opened a Facebook account after so many people told me they were always seeing my daughters on Facebook.

    July 14, 2014

  • Life, liberty, and ... phobias?

    The Global Warming/climate change/climate disruption/I hate the weather fear-mongers need to adopt a better sales pitch if they’re ever going to get me on board their program.

    May 16, 2014

  • Confederate Values and Principles Remain Important

    April is officially recognized as Confederate History and Heritage month in Georgia by Senate bill 27 passed by the Georgia Legislature in 2009 and citizens are encouraged to increase their knowledge and understanding of Georgia’s role in the CSA and the War for Southern Independence of 1861-1865 (Civil War).

    May 16, 2014

  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Famous Internet Cats Help Big Cause With Viral Video Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian Snoop Dogg Narrating Animal Footage Is Perfect Tigers Acquire David Price - @TheBuzzeronFOX Russell Brand Slams Sean Hannity Over Gaza Conflict Segment Chapter Two: Composing for a film in retirement Woman's Dive Goes Terribly Wrong Brian Williams Reports on Daughter Allison Williams' 'Peter Pan' Casting News Did Jimmy Fallon Look Up Heidi Klum's Dress? What Drama? Miranda Kerr Poses Topless Plane crashes in San Diego Costco parking lot Justin Bieber Takes To Instagram To Diss Orlando Bloom You Won't Believe the Celeb Cameos in "Sharknado 2" Pitch Invading Morons Cause Chaos - @TheBuzzeronFOX Orlando Bloom 'Takes a Swing' at Justin Bieber In Ibiza Sadie Doesn't Want Her Brother to Grow Up "Maxim" Hotness! See Jessica Alba's Sizzling Spread Two women barely avoid being hit by train Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Orlando Bloom and Justin Bieber Reportedly Came To Blows In Ibiza