Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

January 18, 2013

Life, liberty, and…..electronics?

Pinehurst — My granddaughter, Ellie Ferguson, is an electronic wizard.  At the age of two and a half she’s mastered her mother’s iphone.  If she can get her hands on the television remote, mayhem usually ensues.

Predictably, Ellie is not alone in her abilities. Toddlers all over the planet are figuring out how to manipulate their parent’s electronic gadgets so that they get the maximum amount of entertainment value out of them.  Toy companies are catering to them, too.

Ellie, it turns out, has a taste for The Allman Brothers Band, but in a pinch she’ll make do with Zeppelin, Skynerd, or Marshall Tucker.  What can I say?  

Why am I bragging on my granddaughter in the newspaper?  Mainly because I can, but secondarily so I can move on to this week’s topic, which includes educational toys.

Back in my day a penny was considered an ‘educational toy.’  That’s right.  If you stuck a penny into a wall outlet, you got an instant education.  Anybody who says money doesn’t go as far as it used to never stuck a nickel in an outlet, that’s certain.

My generation didn’t have a whole lot of educational toys.  What we had were borderline weapons and the panacea parental direction to ‘be careful.’  Right.

We had wood burning sets, BB guns, lawn darts, airplane glue, pocket knives, and baseball bats that, used improperly, would generally provide a child with a learning experience of some sort.  We had hundreds of ways to put out somebody’s eye, open an artery, or simply inflict a mild case of brain damage, all at our fingertips, without a warning label in sight.

I’d like to think that it’s a tribute to our collective intelligence that we survived these distractions, but the truth is that the Lord looks after babies and fools and back then most of us qualified on both counts.

On the ‘no so dangerous’ side of the list of toys were marbles.  Of course, our marbles weren’t real ‘marble’ but were made from glass.  Marbles were educational in the sense that, if you didn’t specify up front that you weren’t playing for keeps, you generally watched your marbles go home in another kid’s bag.

However, specifying beforehand that you weren’t playing for keeps was a direct avenue to yet another form of education.  You’d be instantly declared a sissy and one of the other kids would whip your butt and take your marbles without giving you the option to lose them fair and square.

Actually only one person beat me up and took my marbles and that was Joy Hamilton Edwards.  Yes, she did.  Not only that, she had both arms in a cast when she did it.

These were good, old fashioned plaster of Paris casts put together by Dr. Busbee, so it amounted to giving Joy a pair of brass knuckles for each hand.

On the other hand, when it gets late at night and I’m waxing nostalgic with friends and we discuss monumental mistakes we’ve made, I’ve never felt the need to say, “Let me tell you about the time a fifth grade girl with two broken arms put me into traction.”

Next week, how to avoid discussing politics using an antique mall, a fraternity brother, and a Ouija Board.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Stephen Colbert Tells David Letterman His Plan for 'Late Show' Recycling Highlights for Earth Day Peeps Launched into Outer Space NYPD's Twitter Request For Photos Backfires New HBO Go Commercials Capture Awkward Family TV Watching Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Rise of the Milkbots Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Keflezighi, Jeptoo Win Boston Marathon