Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

February 7, 2013

Life, liberty, and…..February?

Pinehurst — Ah, February, thou art to the Gregorian calendar as a wart on a fan dancer’s fanny: a blemish we are forced to accept if we wish to embrace the rest of the year.

Various peoples and tribes have tried to anoint you in various ways to make you more attractive, much as a photographer seeks a model’s ‘best side.’  You have none.

In New Orleans and various sub-equatorial countries, thou art burdened with a debauch, known variously as Mardi Gras or, simply, Carnival.  It’s the only time of the year the New Orleans city council actively prays for rain.  But that’s only to keep the smell down as much as possible.

Furthermore, you bear the burden of the beginning of Lent. Lent is a time of sacrifice and introspection, two exercises at which I neither excel nor voluntarily prolong. This year my goal is to give up pretenses for Lent. Pardon me if my language becomes rather blunt.

Another attempt to make you attractive, friend February, is the nationally recognized holiday, St. Valentine’s Day.  

St. Valentine’s Day is the day one presents one’s sweetheart with gifts of jewelry and tasty sweets, such as chocolate. Some believe that a woman eating a chocolate morsel experiences the same changes in brain chemistry that she does when she falls in love.

Why then, does chocolate not prevent or relieve the symptoms of PMS?  Truly this is a conundrum for the residents of Mt. Olympus.

Cupid, commonly associated with St. Valentine, is said to shoot his arrows into the hearts of lovers, cementing their bond. Truly, more than one match not necessarily made in Heaven has been cemented by the appearance of a fat, naked baby.

Alas, but for these drab window dressings, February would be known for lesser, more obscure reasons.

For instance, February is the month that Australians drink the least amount of beer. That’s because February normally only has 28 days.

February is the month the groundhog, emerging from his burrow, offers a prediction of an early spring or a long winter.  These matters are obfuscated by the presence of a ‘Northern’ groundhog and a ‘Southern’ groundhog.

Now you know how the Catholics felt when there was a Pope in Rome and another Pope in Constantinople. Whose authority was correct?

Fortunately, here in South Georgia, we always have an early spring, so we rarely rely on the prediction of an illiterate rodent to influence our plans regarding outdoor activities.

There is, however, and has been since 1947-48, a charm on February’s bracelet that outshines all the other previous attempts to brighten up a cloudy month. That charm is Nascar. The jewel in that charm is the Daytona 500.

In the traditions of Americans everywhere, with the Daytona 500, we have applied the principal that if a little bit is good, a lot will be better. Thus we have not just the Daytona 500, we have the Budweiser Shootout.  We also have various practice sessions and the twin qualifying races, all just to see how the drivers are going to line up for the start of the race!

Alas, dear February, a tribute of romantic love seems rather inadequate to express all the desire and emotion I feel for thee.  Just be glad I decided not to write it in iambic pentameter.

Next week, how to tell which of your appliances is considering elopement by using an Emily Dickenson sonnet and a Ouija Board.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday