Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

November 22, 2012

Mr. Man is a smarty-pants

Cordele — An employee at Burger King recently said to Mr. Man, “I stopped reading your wife’s column because she’s so mean to you.”

Excuse me, I tell it like it is, and furthermore, it’s not as though I share his deepest, darkest secrets…you know, like how he clips his toenails at the kitchen table, or the way he leaves a dusting of nose hair in the bathroom sink.  

Besides, if I don’t write about Mr. Man, what am I to discuss that would be of interest?  

It’s not like I’m a walking encyclopedia of topics, after all, and in addition to writing this column, I do have a very demanding and stressful full-time job.  

So somewhere between struggling to please my boss at work and scrubbing the kitchen floor, I must bang out something that will suit the editor, and hopefully, the readers, in a short amount of time.

And on top of that, if I were a professional writer, and if this were a professional column, sure, I would write about the Israeli air strike against Gaza, or the potential closing of the Twinkies company…but, I’m not a professional writer and the column is a hobby, like gardening, or crocheting, neither of which I am very good at, either.

You must admit, Mr. Man is nothing short of the world’s finest muse…I mean, who could ask for greater inspiration than a husband who belongs in the funny papers?  

Snuffy Smith has nothing on Mr. Man when it comes to humorous put-downs and sarcastic remarks.

Just the other day, as we talked on the phone, Mr. Man was experiencing difficulty in backing out of his parking space at Hardee’s.  I can understand his dilemma, given how popular Hardee’s is in the morning time.

“Okaaay, you blankety-blank-blank, you might not let me out, but by George, you’re not getting in!” he screamed at the driver behind him.

From the sound of sheer frustration in his voice, I was able to imagine the sight of bulging eyeballs ready to pop out of their sockets, a face as red as a fire engine, and hands gripping the steering wheel as though he might break it in two at any moment and use it to murder the other, unsuspecting driver.

And with that somewhat disturbing picture in mind, I casually said, “I wish someone would conduct a scientific analysis of the effect of testosterone on everyday mundane events like backing out of a parking space.”

Mr. Man, who thinks the government should mandate that every woman over 40 wear the patch, replied, “What about estrogen?  All women are witches, and a witch is nothing more than an angry woman.”

Except, as you can well imagine, “witch” was not quite the word he used.

“Well, if a witch is an angry woman, then what, for heaven’s sake, is an angry old man?” I asked in a heroic attempt to wield a blow in defense of womankind.

“Normal,” he said, sure of himself, in his cockiest voice.

Ah, normal…well, of course.  I was not surprised by his response, since he is the champion of quick come-backs.

Still, not willing to allow him the last word, I muttered in a venomous tone, “You’re a world-class smarty-pants.”

He did not appear to take offense at my accusation; rather, he reveled in it.

“That’s my birthright…I’m a man.”

Never let it be said that Mr. Man is not full of himself.

 

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday Don't Be A Tattletale: Bad Bullying Tips For Students The trillest thoughts on marijuana "RHOA" Star Charged With Battery Grizzly Bears Get Snowy Birthday Party Weatherman draws forecast when another technical glitch strikes WGN Elizabeth Olsen's Sexy Shoot Bay Area Teen Gets Prom Date With Help From 'Breaking Bad' Star Boston Bomb Scare Defendant Appears in Court Behind The Tanlines Jersey Strong Part 1