Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

November 21, 2012

Life, liberty, and…..nudity?

Pinehurst — Yes, nudity as in nakedness, or as we say in the South, ‘nekkidness.’

Lewis Grizzard has always provided my favorite distinction between being ‘naked’ and being ‘nekkid.’  If you’re naked, you don’t have any clothes on, but if you’re ‘nekkid,’ then you don’t have any clothes on and you’re up to something.

As most of my readers know, I like to keep up with current events and I am now, and always have been, a student of social change and evolution.  So, when a major social change occurs, I take notice.  I don’t always comment on it here in this column, but I do jot it down for future reference.

For instance, when the States of Washington and Colorado passed laws allowing people to possess less than an ounce of marijuana for recreational use, it caught my attention.

That’s not what I want to talk about today. Today I want to talk about San Francisco, a city that already sells more pot than coffee.

San Francisco’s council of supervisors, which is what they call their city council, is voting to decide whether or not to ban public nudity.  You don’t mean to say?

As a matter of fact, I do. You see, they’re not voting on whether or not to ALLOW public nudity, but whether or not to BAN it.  That means that people walking around nekkid in San Francisco has gotten to be so much of a problem, they’re going to have to do something about it.

The district supervisor whose sponsoring the ordinance, Scott Weiner, was the watchdog of justice who sponsored the law, that passed, requiring naked people on public transit to place a ‘cloth’ between their buttocks and the seat they occupied.  How thoughtful.

The proposed law will make it a misdemeanor for anyone over the age of five to display their genitals, perineum, or anal region in a public street, sidewalk, street median, parklet, or plaza.  Apparently you can be nekkid anywhere else, but those few public places and, as far as I can tell, if you go downtown wearing a pair of boxer shorts, you’ll be in compliance with the law.

Incredible as it may seem, people are protesting this violent breach of the public’s right to freedom of speech, interpreted as freedom of expression, in public places.

Mr. Weiner specifically stated that exceptions would be made for various street fairs including regularly organized events such as the Gay Pride Parade and the Folsom Street Fair, which celebrates sadomasochism and other sexual subcultures.  You don’t mean to say?

Thankfully, the news article I read contained a quote from a conscientious protestor who said that he understands that some residents would prefer not to see the body modifications and sex enhancement devices sported by the nudists in the Castro district.  However, the protestor said that he thought Mr. Weiner’s prohibition goes ‘too far in undermining a tradition that keeps San Francisco weird.”

His final quote was, “A few lewd exhibitionists are ruining it for the rest of us.”  You don’t mean to say?

I have to say that, in this instance, I’m on the side of Mr. Weiner and his ordinance requiring boxer shorts on roving nekkid men in public places.

The bad news is that I think it’s going to be a lot more difficult to get this particular genie back in the bottle than it was to let it out.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday