Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

December 20, 2012

Mr. Man gets meaner

Cordele — Is it my unwarranted paranoia, or have the rest of you noticed that males are getting meaner?  Even L’il Man, the chocolate Pomeranian, has been extra snappy lately.

This morning, Mr. Man asked if I planned to write a little story this week…apparently he is worried about losing his fan base.

Thinking for a second, I replied, “I don’t know…you haven’t said anything funny lately.”

Mr. Man responded with his usual quick wit, “Well, how’s this for funny…you’re the only woman I know who is so big on top AND bottom, it’s hard to tell if you’re coming or going.”

You’ll have to use your imagination to know what he said instead of bottom…but either way, it was plain mean.  I’m thinking his prostate may be the cause of this extraordinary meanness.

Just the other day, I happened to be standing in the foyer at the bottom of the stairs, when L’il Man tumbled down them, lickety-split.

Luckily for L’il Man, I was there to catch him; otherwise he might have hit the wall and broken his neck.

Mr. Man, it turns out, had pushed the little fella down the stairs.

“Why’d you do that?” I screamed, petting L’il Man to calm him.  “You could have killed him!”

Mr. Man stood his ground at the top of the stairs.  There was no remorse in his voice.

“The little blankety-blank jacked his leg in my man cave.”

I looked at poor L’il Man, who shook like a leaf on a windy day.  Admittedly, his behavior was inappropriate, but not a capital offense.

Yep, Mr. Man is getting meaner by the hour, but he is not alone.  Look at all the meanness going on around us.

It’s a shame we have to speak of such inconceivable horror at any time of the year, but especially at Christmas.  Still, we may as well go ahead and talk about the elephant in the room…the massacre of innocent children and teachers in Connecticut.

We’d all like to know what is behind the onslaught of mass, senseless murders in recent years.  What exactly happened between 1950 and the turn of the century to make life go topsy-turvy?

If you think about it, until the Columbine incident in 1999, we freely went to school, the movies, shopping, and parades without wondering if some hair-brained idiot would drop in and blow us away with an arsenal of deadly weapons.  

What’s next…the Piggly Wiggly?

Most of my friends believe these horrible events occur because we took God out of our schools.  I agree…we no longer put the fear of God into kids.

But that’s only one aspect of it.  Another issue is that we took the paddle out of the principal’s hand….the paddle that once kept the boys in line.

The thought of keeping boys in line brings up another point.  It’s never a girl wielding an assault rifle… always a boy.  The D.C. snipers, the mall shooter, the Columbine perpetrators, the Virginia Tech monster…all males.

So what’s going on to make our men meaner?  Some experts contend that aggressive women are at the root of the phenomena…causing men to act out in order to establish their masculinity.

That could be.  Or, it could be that the Communists are sneaking something funny into the cattle feed…men do eat a lot of beef.

I’ll try putting Mr. Man on a vegetarian diet, and if that doesn’t work, I’ll send him to a urologist.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
New HBO Go Commercials Capture Awkward Family TV Watching #myNYPD backfires for NYPD Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down Rise of the Milkbots TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Keflezighi, Jeptoo Win Boston Marathon Teen hitchhikes in wheel well of flight from California to Hawaii Lindsay Lohan's Jaw-Dropping Secret President Sends Message To Boston And Marathon Runners