Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

January 23, 2013

Letter to the Editor:

Mother expresses concerns

Vienna — Editor:

I attended the Board of Education meeting Thursday, Jan. 17 in Dooly County. I wanted to voice my concerns about some of the things that are going on at Dooly County Middle School.

First of all, it’s against the law to take a child out of class and put him in another class that’s called the “problem” class. In my son’s class, more than two children were taken out.

It’s wrong for teachers not to allow a child to go to the restroom. If a child raises his hand to ask permission to go to the restroom, one teacher looks at the child, then turns his back and ignores the child.

If the child calls the teacher’s name or walks out of the classroom, his name is written on the board, and he’s sent to ISS (in-school suspension) or to the problem class.

I’m not angry only about my child. All children have to endure this treatment, but I speak out for all. I really don’t understand how we as parents let this mistreatment of our children go on for so long.

We send our children to school for an education, yet they are being bullied and picked on, not by other children, but by the adults who are supposed to be looking after them. If they raise their hands in some classes, they are sent out of those classes.

Our children shouldn’t get this treatment. If a close relative of the child is not friends with certain teachers, that child gets mistreated. There’s too much “buddy buddy” in the school system, and it must end soon.

My son’s asthma has been acting up, and come to find out, it’s stress from the school because of the way he’s been treated. My son came home and cried all night long, and I’m not putting up with it anymore.

I have talked to the teachers, the principal, superintendent and board members. I must move forward, and I will.

Tomika Chaney

Vienna

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' Obama to Oso: We'll Be Here As Long As It Takes Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Recycling Highlights for Earth Day Stephen Colbert Dishes With Letterman #myNYPD backfires for NYPD New HBO Go Commercials Capture Awkward Family TV Watching Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Rise of the Milkbots Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Keflezighi, Jeptoo Win Boston Marathon Teen hitchhikes in wheel well of flight from California to Hawaii