Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

March 10, 2014

My favorite lawman

Cordele — In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson

August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

I have recently spoken with numerous people who knew Sheriff Donnie and were willing to share their personal thoughts and experiences with him. As they did, I was reminded of times I shared with him.

My first encounter came when I was just a kid in the D.A.R.E. program. I won’t say how long ago that was.

I came to work with this newspaper over six years ago and during that time had the privilege of getting to know him better.

Most of our conversations always began with me saying, “There’s my favorite lawman,” and him responding with “There’s my favorite news reporter.” That exchange was always followed with a smile, laugh and big hug.

My favorite lawman was a man of great character. He loved Cordele and Crisp County. Many people can tell you numerous things he did for this community and its citizens. The things he did were not for his own personal glory but for the good of the people he was sworn to protect.

He was instrumental in bringing the D.A.R.E. program into our schools not for folks to pat him on the back, but to teach the children of this community the dangers of drug abuse and the importance of “Just saying NO.”

Throughout his years, he served as a mentor to countless young people many of whom went on to careers in law enforcement. He always stressed the importance of education and working hard to be the best one can possibly be.

He was a driving force behind the Crisp County Emergency Management Agency, not because he wanted people to say “Good Job, sheriff,” but because he wanted our citizens as well as our first responders to be safe in the event tragedy struck our community.

He established programs that taught personal safety and firearms familiarization for women because as a sheriff, husband and father he wanted all women to have some knowledge of self defense.

He began a Junior Deputy program to help educate the next generation of law enforcement.

My favorite lawman upheld the position of sheriff with dignity and integrity. He also valued honesty and loyalty.

Throughout his years of law enforcement, he encountered many people who found themselves on the wrong side of the law. He worked to establish GED classes and other programs as well as church services for inmates because he wanted to help them realize there’s more to life than a life of crime.

Working as a news reporter at times, I have felt some people run when they see us coming thinking, “Oh, no, there comes the media, in search of a story.”

That was never the case with my favorite lawman. If that scanner at work sent me out to the scene and he was there he found time to ensure  I got the information I needed to help keep the public informed.

Many days I called the office asking Cathy for ‘my favorite lawman.’ I can’t remember a time he did not pick up the phone. He always answered my questions.

When asking for a direct quote for whatever story I was working on at the time. He would laugh and respond by saying, “You know what to say; just don’t let me sound stupid.”

My favorite lawman was much more than a sheriff. He was a devoted husband, father, grandfather, mentor, friend and, most importantly, he was a man of God. His faith remained strong even during the toughest times of his life.

In an interview with my fellow Dispatch employee Harvey Simpson in January of 2013 he was quoted as saying, “I’m going to keep fighting the fight, running the race and — most of all — keeping the faith.” And he did just that.

He has crossed the finish line of that race and now walks in paradise with his King — a reward for all his years of unwavering faith and loyalty. Rest in peace “my favorite lawman.” While you will be missed, you will never be forgotten.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • A fun week in the Blue Ridge

    Helen, Georgia and the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains has been sort of a second home to B. J. and me for many years.

    July 16, 2014

  • Surrendering Frees Energy to Move On

    Many of the wisdom traditions speak about the power of surrender. Surrender is not an easy word for those of us in Western civilization, for it implies 'giving up', or losing. It may even be associated with a sense of shame. The opposite of surrender might be 'fighting to the death'.

    July 15, 2014

  • Life, Liberty, and….. Quizzes?

    Before I can talk about quizzes, I have to talk about Facebook.  I opened a Facebook account after so many people told me they were always seeing my daughters on Facebook.

    July 14, 2014

  • Life, liberty, and ... phobias?

    The Global Warming/climate change/climate disruption/I hate the weather fear-mongers need to adopt a better sales pitch if they’re ever going to get me on board their program.

    May 16, 2014

  • Confederate Values and Principles Remain Important

    April is officially recognized as Confederate History and Heritage month in Georgia by Senate bill 27 passed by the Georgia Legislature in 2009 and citizens are encouraged to increase their knowledge and understanding of Georgia’s role in the CSA and the War for Southern Independence of 1861-1865 (Civil War).

    May 16, 2014

  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Guardians of the Galaxy (Trailer) Famous Internet Cats Help Big Cause With Viral Video Raw: Obama Gets Hug From Special Olympian Snoop Dogg Narrating Animal Footage Is Perfect Tigers Acquire David Price - @TheBuzzeronFOX Russell Brand Slams Sean Hannity Over Gaza Conflict Segment Chapter Two: Composing for a film in retirement Woman's Dive Goes Terribly Wrong Brian Williams Reports on Daughter Allison Williams' 'Peter Pan' Casting News Did Jimmy Fallon Look Up Heidi Klum's Dress? What Drama? Miranda Kerr Poses Topless Plane crashes in San Diego Costco parking lot Justin Bieber Takes To Instagram To Diss Orlando Bloom You Won't Believe the Celeb Cameos in "Sharknado 2" Pitch Invading Morons Cause Chaos - @TheBuzzeronFOX Orlando Bloom 'Takes a Swing' at Justin Bieber In Ibiza Sadie Doesn't Want Her Brother to Grow Up "Maxim" Hotness! See Jessica Alba's Sizzling Spread Two women barely avoid being hit by train Broken Water Main Floods UCLA