Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

January 14, 2013

Let's teach safety

Abbeville — Dear Editor:

As I listen to the politicans on both sides of the aisle talk about strict gun control, I have heard everything from triple the price of ammunition to banning all guns.

How about cars? They kill people, and how about 4 wheelers, dirt bikes, knives, tractors, crossbows, horses, swimming pools?

Looking back through history, all these things at one time or another has been used to commit a crime. You can't ban everything that causes harm. We would have to move into a feather factory.

I have yet to hear a single politician bring up the idea of programs to teach our children about the safety of firearms. We have drivers education, swimming instructors, 4 wheeler instructors, people who teach you how to ride a horse, but when firearms come up, we close down all the shooting programs and hide the guns in a closet.

Our 4-H shooting program here in Georgia has about 700 kids in the bb program, 900 in shotgun, over 100 in 22 rifle.

The first thing they must do is be tested on the safety of these guns. It’s called “project safe,” and that’s what it teaches — safety and respect first. Shooting is the last thing.

I have coached shooting sports in Wilcox County 4-H for nine years, and I am proud to say all our kids who came through the program have gone on to be outstanding young people.

I try to keep up with most of them, and it makes me proud to hear some of them say, “you taught me that as my bb coach.”

We teach more than just gun safety. We teach them how to be a good role model for our younger kids.

I hope we can let God out of the closet and bring him back to the head of the class in our schools, and teach our little children while they are still too young to know the meaning of the word hate.

Let’s open back up the safety courses on guns. Several states have shut down their safety shooting programs in 4-H, and they have the some of the highest crime rates in the country.

Bubba Weldon

Abbeville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Viral: It's Not Pitbull - It's Amy Poehler! Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Jenna Dewan-Tatum Strips Down Rise of the Milkbots TRENDING: Brian Williams Raps 'Gin and Juice' on ‘Tonight Show’ Middle School heroes rescue students from burning bus WHOPPER OF FISHING STORY: Florida man catches massive Mako shark Maks Chmerkovskiy's "DWTS" Meltdown The many faces of Mike Woodson Ape Builds A Fire And Toasts Marshmallows In Amazing BBC Video Manchester Utd sack manager David Moyes "RHOA's" Dramatic Brawl High school, College Drug Ring Busted In Montgomery County High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Raw: Keflezighi, Jeptoo Win Boston Marathon Teen hitchhikes in wheel well of flight from California to Hawaii Lindsay Lohan's Jaw-Dropping Secret President Sends Message To Boston And Marathon Runners LA Pastor Attracts Churchgoers with Pot Lauren Stoner Shows Off Her Incredible Bikini Body