Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

November 29, 2012

Mr. Man and leftovers

Cordele — Living with Mr. Man is, in many ways, like being single; ask any woman over 50…that’s a good thing.

For example, there’s food preparation. Mr. Man can barely tolerate the smell of vegetables bubbling on top of the stove, so we eat out a lot. Ladies…I know you find that trait in a man irresistible, almost as irresistible as a man who wipes down the toilet seat and rinses the bathroom sink every morning.

“What’s that rotten animal smell?” he shouted, leaning over the staircase, not long ago when I had a hankering for turnip greens.

 I remember the harried days in my old life…rushing home from work to get the vegetables started in their pots, covering them with lids and hoping they would not boil over, or worse, burn the house to the ground, as I adjusted the stove to its lowest setting, then made a mad dash to the next county to take the kids to horseback riding lessons.

“You were brave to leave butterbeans cooking while you drove all the way to Dooly County,” you might say.

This is true.  I would never leave the house today with the stove on.  But the fact of the matter is there is no one braver than a working mother. They are risk-takers. There’s not an astronaut in outer space, an explorer in the thickest jungle, or a soldier in the deadliest war zone whose bravery can outshine that of a working mom.

But, back to Mr. Man.

Not only does the fact that he frowns on cooking free me from my previous slavery in front of a stove, it saves time in the cleaning department as well.

Imagine, if you will, a refrigerator with no leftovers. I keep an open box of baking soda in the refrigerator door out of habit…and because that’s what my grandmother did… but really, it is not necessary.

I will wager that if you checked the refrigerator of every married woman in town, in nine out of ten, you would find at least one Rubbermaid bowl containing something that resembles an eighth-grade science project. Something green. Something furry.

The contents probably started out as beans or beef stew, then languished for weeks, hiding behind the milk carton, waiting for that fruitful Saturday when the lady of the house might notice the leftovers, only to toss them into the garbage, bowl and all.  Even Rubbermaid is not always salvageable.

The most you will find akin to leftovers in my refrigerator is a half-empty jar of Duke’s and a jar of sweet pickle relish, and that is only because I, from time to time, like a little tuna salad, which bothers Mr. Man almost as much as the turnip greens.

“Yuck…tuna juice,” Mr. Man said squeamishly the one time he saw me open a can of tuna over the sink.

Afterward, he insisted I sterilize the can opener, and from that day on, I have only made tuna salad when he was not looking.

So, given all that I have told you about Mr. Man’s ideas on food preparation, you will not be surprised to learn that we went out for Thanksgiving dinner. While I gobbled up turkey, dressing, butterbeans and corn, he wolfed down ham slices and rolls, claiming the butterbeans had enough salt on them to preserve them until doomsday.

Oh…and did I mention there were no dishes to wash?  But back off, ladies…he’s mine.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

  • Another milestone

    From the time we are born until we die, our life is a series of milestones.

    December 7, 2013

  • Apple pie has no place at Thanksgiving

    It's practically a law that in late November, every publication must offer a Thanksgiving guide. This year, I would like to draw your attention to two exceptional ones.

    November 27, 2013

  • Recycling fishing line Thank you for recycling

    As the “15 Days of Recycling” continues, Keep Crisp Beautiful would like to thank you for helping and contributing to our event.

    November 16, 2013 1 Photo

  • EDITORIALS: Move forward on immigration reform; SNAP cuts impact all

    The chance of serious immigration reform passing in these closing weeks of Congress depends on how optimistic you are. / The 6 percent, or $5 billion, cut to the nation’s food stamp program will harm more than those individual recipients.

    November 5, 2013

  • A bit more baseball

    I never knew a baseball fan or player who didn’t want their favorite teams to win.

    November 2, 2013

AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
Jabari Parker's Top 5 Plays From Duke Career Kourtney Kardashian Is a Bikini Babe More Manpower Than Ever Expected At 4/20 Rally Debunk'd: Miley Cyrus AIDS, Cheeseburgers Cause Cancer, Military Warning Bill Previewing the NBA playoffs Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite My name is Cocaine Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Lohan Gets Candid About Her Sex List The 2014 New York Auto Show Meet Johnny Manziel's New Girlfriend Chelsea Clinton Announces Pregnancy Funny: Celebrating Easter with Martha Stewart and Friends Man Accuses 'X-Men' Director Bryan Singer of Sexually Abusing Him As a Teenager Man hit with $525 federal fine after he doesn't pay for soda refill Lea Michele & Naya Rivera Feuding? Jabari Parker declares for the NBA draft Singing Nun Belts Out Cyndi Lauper New West, Texas Explosion Video Swim Daily, Throwback Thursday