Cordele Dispatch, Cordele, GA

Opinion

January 28, 2013

CAPITOL NOTES

Legislative session begins

Cordele — The first day of the 2013 session of the Georgia General Assembly began on Jan. 14.   Members were sworn in for a two year term and the House leadership was elected. 

David Ralston was re-elected Speaker of the House and Jan Jones was re-elected Speaker Pro-Tem.  Committee appointments were made by the Speaker and the Committee on Appointments. 

I will serve as vice chairman of the Agriculture Committee, vice-chairman of the Natural Resources and Environment Committee, and secretary of the Small Business Development and Job Creation Committee. 

In addition I serve as a member of the Appropriations Committee, the Health and Human Services Committee and the Banks and Banking Committee. 

I also have been asked to serve as a deputy whip with House Majority Whip Representative Ed Lindsey. 

After reapportionment in 2012 our District number is 148 and includes all of Crisp, Pulaski and Wilcox Counties and a portion of Houston County.  I share Houston County with the finest House county legislative delegation in Georgia including House Majority Leader Larry O’Neal, Representatives Willie Talton, Bubber Epps, and Robert Dickey. 

I had an opportunity prior to the session beginning to visit with county and city local government and civic leaders throughout the District. I am confident that, under the local leadership in District 148, we will see the District move toward economic recovery and job creation in the coming months.

The Governor gave his State of the State address to a joint session of the House and Senate that included members of the judiciary, special guests and the public.  In his address Governor Deal highlighted economic development, public safety and education as priorities while covering all areas of State responsibility.  

I will not cover the details of his address in that I am sure most readers already have been informed through a variety of media.  

One piece of legislation did pass the Senate this week dealing with the Hospital Medicaid Assessment. This fee brings back our federal tax dollars, for use at the State level, on a two for one match to ensure that hospitals are paid for at least a portion of the indigent care they are required to furnish and for which they are not compensated. 

The money generated by this fee ensures that hospitals which furnish a high level of care for the indigent population can continue to operate and make their services available to the less economically fortunate. 

The House will consider this legislation when the General Assembly returns on Jan. 28.  All hospitals in District 148 have expressed support for this legislation. 

 I will cover this and other healthcare issues in more detail in the coming weeks.  I am still of the opinion that the federal healthcare reform legislation is going to raise taxes and insurance premiums on all of our citizens regardless of income level and will result in a decreased quality of care while significantly increasing costs. 

Text Only
Opinion
  • A fun week in the Blue Ridge

    Helen, Georgia and the beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains has been sort of a second home to B. J. and me for many years.

    July 16, 2014

  • Surrendering Frees Energy to Move On

    Many of the wisdom traditions speak about the power of surrender. Surrender is not an easy word for those of us in Western civilization, for it implies 'giving up', or losing. It may even be associated with a sense of shame. The opposite of surrender might be 'fighting to the death'.

    July 15, 2014

  • Life, Liberty, and….. Quizzes?

    Before I can talk about quizzes, I have to talk about Facebook.  I opened a Facebook account after so many people told me they were always seeing my daughters on Facebook.

    July 14, 2014

  • Life, liberty, and ... phobias?

    The Global Warming/climate change/climate disruption/I hate the weather fear-mongers need to adopt a better sales pitch if they’re ever going to get me on board their program.

    May 16, 2014

  • Confederate Values and Principles Remain Important

    April is officially recognized as Confederate History and Heritage month in Georgia by Senate bill 27 passed by the Georgia Legislature in 2009 and citizens are encouraged to increase their knowledge and understanding of Georgia’s role in the CSA and the War for Southern Independence of 1861-1865 (Civil War).

    May 16, 2014

  • Sheriff Donnie Haralson My favorite lawman

    In loving memory of Sheriff Donnie Haralson
    August 11, 1955 - March 4, 2014

    Our community mourned  Friday as our greatest mentor and friend, Sheriff Donnie Haralson, was laid to rest after a lengthy and valiantly fought battle with cancer.

    March 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • Letter to the Editor

    I enjoy reminders of what I have:  Freedom to be whomever I choose and to choose who leads me in government, abundance of good food, housing, transportation, and education opportunity, and above all others the freedom to worship as I believe and God’s grace in my Savior from sin.

    February 18, 2014

  • God loves the hurt away

    There are many things in life that we simply don’t understand.

    February 5, 2014

  • Letter to the Editor

    Dear Editors,
    Cordele is probably not unique in that the story of our community has been told in the pages of a locally printed newspaper through the years.
    While it seems that our rapidly changing technologies threaten the future of small towns, maybe even metropolitan areas, newspapers will be difficult for at least one more generation to find a substitute for local reporting.

    January 11, 2014

  • One of God’s little lessons

    NOTE: This was a little pre-New Year story that I shared with friends on facebook about a personal experience on New Year’s Eve. By request of several of those friends I decided to share it here for our readers who may not be on social media to enjoy.

    January 5, 2014

AP Video
Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
NDN Video
'Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1' Sneak Peek GMA: Dog passes out from excitment to see owner Chapter Two: Designing for Naomi Watts Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Florida Keys Webcam Captures Turtles Hatching Morgan Freeman Sucks Down Helium on 'Tonight Show' Robin Wright Can Dance! (WATCH) She's Back! See Paris Hilton's New Carl's Jr. Ad Big Weekend For Atlanta Braves In Cooperstown - @TheBuzzeronFox Chapter Two: Becoming a first-time director What's Got Jack Black Freaking Out at Comic-Con? Doctors Remove 232 Teeth From Teen's Mouth Bradley Cooper Explains His Voice in 'Guardians of the Galaxy' Deja vu: Another NYPD officer choke-holding a suspect 'Fifty Shades of Grey': Watch the Super Sexy First Trailer Now! Reports: Ravens RB Ray Rice Suspended For 1st 2 Games Of The Season Air Algerie plane with 119 on board missing over Mali Diamond Stone, Malik Newman, Josh Jackson and others showcase talent Free Arturo - The World's Saddest Polar Bear A Look Back at Batman On Film Through The Years