Greer-Harris top vote-getter in tight Abbeville race

Published 10:48 am Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three seats on the Abbeville City Council were up for grabs among four challengers in an election that wrapped up Tuesday evening.

The contest was close. Only 19 votes seperated the top vote-getter from the bottom vote-getter.

Penny J. Brown Greer-Harris received 84 votes, Thomas Stanley received 79, Patricia B. Wells received 78, and Melissa Lawson received 65 votes.

The top three finishers, Greer-Harris, Stanley, and Wells, will be awarded the three open seats.