Cougars hold Grid Iron Banquet

Published 10:56 am Monday, February 6, 2017

The Crisp County High School Cougars held their annual Football Banquet on Thursday night at the High School cafe. Rev. Isaac Owens served as the Master of Ceremonies for the event. A capacity crowd of friends parents and grandparents watched as the Cougars received their individual awards. Many of the players had earned their letter jackets for the first time and 46 out of 75 were scholar athletes with many in the 2.8 to 2.9 gpa range. Absolutely the highest ever grade point average for a Cougar Football team. Coach Felton gave special recognition to many persons for their great help with the football team. Mrs. Debbie Keeney was thanked for her tireless efforts on behalf of the team. The Crisp County Cougars set records in 2016. Most wins in a season 13. Most consecutive wins 13. First region championship in 21 years.

Individual Awards

Mr. Defense- Markaviest Big Cat Bryant

Mr. Offense-Brandon Dowdell

Most Valuable Player-Jammie Robinson

Most Improved Player-Ahdarrious Gee

Most Improved Player-Patrick “Neno” Felton

Coaches Award-DeAngelo “Puppy” Griffin

Coaches Award-Antonio “Peewee” Addie

Best Special teams Player- Brandon Thompson

Commitment Award- Jahlil Taylor

Mr. Clutch- Quay Walker

Most Improved-Jihshawn Taylor

Most Improved- TJ Ming

Courage Award- Damias Ward

Future Cougar- Clifton Mercer

Future Cougar- Colton Oliver

Scholar Athlete Awards

3.0 GPA or higher

Brandon Dowdell

Markaviest Bryant

Jammie Robinson

Bailey Barfield

Patrick Felton

Ahdarrious Gee

Jhi’Shawn Taylor

TJ Ming

Miles Napier

Fredrick Royal

TyQuavious Armstrong

Joseph Stokes

Adams Posey

John Woodall

Dakevian Thomas

Alex Bowen

Garderris Henry

Devontay Buckholts

Henry Dawson

Ca’mion Snead

Calvin Haugabrook

Brandon Thompson

Nick Lanneau

Jayren Fox

Cameron Hudson

Trenton Richey

Joseph Paul

Trevon Gaston

Clifton Mercer

Eddie Williams

Jahlil Taylor

LeQuince James

De’Angelo Griffin

Jerome Tolbert

Antonio addie

Colton Oliver

Jh’Quan Bass

A’Jaylin Johnson

Shane Chastain

AJ Duncan

Awais Cheema

Joshua Robinson

JyNick Mainor

Devante Lawrence

Travis Hughes

Michael Bryant


Henry Dawson

Essau Ford

Brannen Bledsoe

Jihshawn Taylor

Tyquavius Armstrong

Damias Ward

Brandon Thompson

Joseph Stokes

Markaviest Bryant

Brandon Dowdell

Davioen Troup

Alex Bowen

Tavis Greene

Gardarrious Henry

Dekevious Hamilton