Dooly County holds end of the year sports banquet

Published 3:57 pm Friday, May 18, 2018

By Leeza Streetman

DCHS Media Specialist

VIENNA- The Dooly County High School Annual Athletic Banquet was held in the high school cafeteria on May 14, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. The event began with a welcome by the Dooly County Schools assistant athletic director, Coach Minnie Harper. Following dinner the presentation of awards for all sports began.

Coach Minnie Harper presented the Most Dedicated Softball Player Award to Jayla Wedges. Coach Harper recognized the following players in girls’ basketball: Alexis Smith (All-Around Scholar), Takerria Lee, Season Adams (MVP), Tierra Burden (Best Defensive Player) and Jasmine Clark. Coach Harper recognized for girls’ track: Takerria Lee, Season Adams, Felice Almond, Azaria Mathis and Cierra James. Tierra Burden received the Coach’s Award in track for competing at state in the long jump.

Coach Corey Jarvis recognized the following members of the boys’ track team: TaTravian Haugabrook as Most Dedicated, Travis Glover as Most Improved and Reginald Smith as Most Valuable (competed at state).

In baseball, Coach Quinnen Peavy recognized Desi Lester as Best Offensive Player, Reginald Smith as Best Defensive Player, and Edgerrin Almond as Most Improved. The Coach’s Award went to Markerious Bolden.

In boys’ basketball Coaches Tavoris Brown, Brian Anderson and Towandi King recognized the following players: Edgerrin Almond (JV), Zy’Quayvion Johnson (JV), TaTravian Haugabrook (JV), Jeff Felton (Defensive Award), Lontravious Davis (Offensive Award), Towandi King, Jr. (Coach’s Award), Reginald Smith (Most Improved), Desi Lester, Jr. (Coach’s Award), Zeff Felton (Defensive Player of the Year) and Jarquavius Brown (Offensive Award). The boys’ varsity team placed 4th in their region.

In girls’ soccer, Coach Trenton Franklin recognized Yasmin Roblero with Iron Woman Award, Angela Lerma with the Coach’s Award and Brandy Lundy as the Most Valuable Player. He recognized in boys’ soccer: Carlos Paredes as the Best Defensive Player, Rody Velasquez with the Iron Man Award, Jose Cruz as the Most Valuable Player, and Abel Vega as the Best Offensive Player and with the Coach’s Award.

In football, Coach Jimmy Hughes awarded to Jarquavius Brown the Special Teams Award (led sub-region in punting), Desi Lester, Jr. the Best Offensive Player Award, Malik Burns the Best Defensive Player Award, and Bo Lawson the Most Valuable Player. The Coach’s Award was given to Travis Glover, Markerious Bolden, Chad Thomas and Reginald Smith. Markerious Bolden was recognized with the Scholar Athlete Award.

The senior athletes were also recognized: Joshua Cornejo, Angela Lerma, Felise Almond, Alexis Smith, Jarquavius Brown, Desi Lester, Jr., Markerious Bolden, Patrick Taylor, Jose Cruz and Travis Glover.

DCHS football award winners (left tor right): Travis Glover, Reginald Smith, Markerious Bolden and Desi Lester.

DCHS girls’ track award winners (left to right): Felise Almond, Alexis Smith, Cierra James and Takerria Lee.

Members of the Dooly County High School boys’ and girls’ soccer teams with their awards on display.