CCHS softball and football players top region award lists

Published 11:17 pm Friday, November 30, 2018

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The GHSA’s region 1-AAA recently selected their postseason award recipients for fall sports and Crisp County’s region champion softball team and football team were well represented.

For the softball awards, CCHS shortstop Riley Blampied was selected as the region 1-AAA player of the year, while infielder Megan Bloodworth took the region’s Defensive Player of the Year honor. The two were also both selected as first team all-region players along with teammates Jo Brady, Rilee Duckworth, Olivia Taylor and Kirin Webb. CCHS outfielders Shelbi Cobb and Macy West were selected for second team all-region, while Peyton Bozeman and Ainslee Forsythe were picked as honorable mentions for the all-region teams.

CCHS softball Head Coach Ben Robbins was selected as the region’s Coach of the Year.

Crisp County High School linebacker Chris Paul was picked as Defensive Player of the Year in the region football awards, while AJ Lofton was voted the Athlete of the Year and CCHS Head Coach Brad Harber took the region Coach of the Year award.

The four Cougar players selected for first team all-region on offense were: running back Marquise Palmer, receiver Fredrick Royal, as well as linemen Colton Oliver and Clifton Mercer.

The Cougars had two second team all-region offense selections, Eddie Reese (receiver) and Mekhi Hill (lineman). All-region offensive honorable mention selections for Crisp were Jack Carter (quarterback), Anthony Lewis (running back), Jy’Nick Mainor (receiver), Gaige Little (receiver), A’Jaylin Johnson (lineman) and Tanner Massey (lineman).

14 Crisp County players highlighted the all-region defensive teams.

Cougar first team defense all-region selections were: Kamron Moate (defensive line), Jaquan Bass (d-line), Ahdarrious Gee (linebacker), Preston Lavant (LB), Sirad Bryant (defensive back) and Kentevious Spivey (DB).

Crisp County’s second team defense all-region picks were: Nick Mercer (d-line), Jayren Fox (LB), and Damion Cross (DB).

Cougar honorable mention defensive selections were: Perici Gaines (D-line), Trenton Richey (LB), Camion Snead (LB), Adarian Carter (DB), and Jaylin Epps (DB).