CCHS soccer celebrates successful year with postseason banquet

Published 3:25 pm Tuesday, May 21, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Monday night, the Crisp County High School soccer teams held their annual postseason banquet to celebrate the teams’ successes during the 2019 season.

Crisp County soccer’s all-region selections for the 2019 season were announced on the night, and the CCHS teams dominated the 1-AAA awards list.

The Lady Cougars, who won their second consecutive region title after going unbeaten in league play this season, had 11 players picked for the all-region teams.

Headlining the region’s girls’ soccer awards were CCHS players Maddi Hughes, who was picked as the 1-AAA offensive player of the year, and Kaya Daniels, who took defensive player of the year honors.

Five Lady Cougars were selected for first team all-region honors: Markayla Henderson, Anahi Garcia, Bridgett Byrd, Madison Waters, and Kirin Webb.

Rounding out the CCHS girls’ award winners were second team all-region selections Emma Brazel, Roxanna Perez, Peyton Bozeman, and Jo Brady.

11 players from the CCHS boys’ team were also picked for 1-AAA awards for their performances throughout this season, which helped the Cougars win a region title.

The CCHS boys’ team had two 1-AAA player of the year selections. Mark Lewis was named the region’s defensive player of the year, and Jordan Fawkes was picked as the goalkeeper of the year.

Additionally, four Cougar players were picked for first team all-region, and five more made the second team.

First team CCHS selections were: Eric Bohannon, CJ Daniels, Davin Fryman, and Logan Boutwell.

The CCHS players who made the region’s second team were: Kevin Richmond, Daniel Hurtado, Tirth Patel, Diego Alvarez, and Drayton McGinnis.

Pictured in the top photo is the Crisp County High School Lady Cougar soccer team at Monday night’s banquet. In the bottom photo is the CCHS boys’ team at the soccer banquet. (Submitted photos)