Primary Election results in Crisp, Wilcox and Dooly

Published 9:16 am Wednesday, May 23, 2018

By Erica O’Neal

Managing Editor

Primary elections on May 22 resulted in a re-election win for Democrat Larry Felton with 413 votes- 56.27% for the Crisp County Commissioner District 1, Post 1 seat. Two other Democratic candidates were running against him: Cassandra Reid and Ricky Redding. Both were defeated with Cassandra Reid receiving 212 votes-28.88% and Ricky Redding receiving 109 votes-14.85%.

Lucas Allison, reporting from Wilcox County, District 5 Commissioner Chairman Lanier Keene won re-election for a third term, defeating his opponent Ronald L. Spires, 178 votes-56.87% to 135 votes-43.13%. Since there is no Democratic opposition in November, Keene is the District 5 Commissioner Elect.

The Wilcox District 3 Commissioner’s race had four Republican candidates with no Democratic opposition. In that race the candidates were Furman Peebles 89 votes -42.79%, Mel Powell 67 votes -32.21%, Greg Ledford 41 votes-19.71% and Jimmy Jink Humphries 11 votes -5.29%. There will be a runoff July 24, between Peebles and Powell since no one received 50% +1.

In Dooly County, the only contested seat was with Dooly County Board of Education, District 3. Wanda Parker Jackson won the seat with 87 votes-53.50%, defeating Kenneth Servon Kellogg who had 50 votes-36.50%